Air Quality

Air quality in the NWT

Clean air is essential to our well-being. The decisions we make every day, at home and at work, affect the quality of the air we breathe. While air quality in the Northwest Territories (NWT) is generally very good, we all share responsibility for clean air to contribute to healthy communities, resilient ecosystems and a sustainable economy for the future.

The Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) works to protect and manage air quality in the NWT by:

  • Monitoring air quality across the NWT as part of a Canada-wide network
  • Providing recommendations and oversight during industrial regulatory processes
  • Providing current and historical air quality data, including real-time data from four community monitoring stations in Inuvik, Norman Wells, Fort Smith and Yellowknife
  • Participating in the Canada-wide Air Quality Management System to ensure consistent air quality management across the country

Air Quality Monitoring Program

The GNWT operates four state-of-the-art continuous ambient air quality monitoring stations in Fort Smith, Inuvik, Norman Wells and Yellowknife. Each of these stations samples and analyzes air quality on a continuous basis for a variety of parameters including dust and chemicals. The network is part of the National Air Pollution Surveillance Network (NAPS), a federal air quality monitoring program operated across the country.

Real-time data from these four stations are available on the Air Quality Monitoring Program website. The site also provides information about the monitoring network, including current and historical air quality monitoring data and additional information.

For information on air quality monitoring as part of the Giant Mine Remediation Project, please visit the webpage for the Giant Mine Ambient Air Monitoring Program.

​Air and Precipitation Monitoring Network

The GNWT works with Environment and Climate Change Canada’s Canadian Air and Precipitation Monitoring Network (CAPMoN) to run two network stations at Snare Rapids and Wood Buffalo National Park. The data from these stations assist in the study of regional patterns and trends of atmospheric pollutants in air and precipitation.

Air Quality Health Index

High levels of dust and other pollutants in the air can cause difficulty breathing, headaches, and eye, nose or throat irritation.

The national Air Quality Health Index (AQHI) is a health risk communication tool that forecasts health risks related to air quality on a scale from 1 to 10 and provides information on how NWT residents can protect themselves when air quality is poor, such as during wildfire season.

The AQHI is currently available for Yellowknife, Fort Smith and Inuvik and will be available for Norman Wells in the future.

Resources

Annual reports

The GNWT publishes annual NWT Air Quality Reports. These reports summarize the air quality information collected for the given year. Each report also provides information on: air quality monitoring network operations, air pollutants monitored, air quality standards used to assess the monitoring results, and a discussion of trends in NWT air quality.

Air Quality

Qualité de l’air aux TNO

L’air pur est essentiel à notre bien-être. Les décisions que nous prenons tous les jours, à la maison et au travail, ont une influence sur la qualité de l’air que nous respirons. Bien que la qualité de l’air des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (TNO) soit généralement très bonne, nous devons nous efforcer de la garder ainsi pour que nos collectivités demeurent saines, nos écosystèmes, robustes, et notre économie, durable.

Le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (GTNO) protège et gère la qualité de l’air aux TNO en :

  • surveillant la qualité de l’air dans l’ensemble des TNO dans le cadre d’un réseau pancanadien;
  • formulant des recommandations et en assurant la supervision pendant les processus réglementaires industriels;
  • fournissant des données actuelles et historiques sur la qualité de l’air, notamment des données en temps réel produites par nos quatre stations de surveillance communautaires situées à Inuvik, Norman Wells, Fort Smith et Yellowknife;
  • participant au système pancanadien de gestion de la qualité de l’air pour en garantir la cohérence dans tout le pays.

Programme de surveillance de la qualité de l’air

Le GTNO exploite quatre stations ultramodernes de surveillance continue de l’air ambiant, à Fort Smith, Inuvik, Norman Wells et Yellowknife. Chaque station prélève en permanence des échantillons permettant d’évaluer la qualité de l’air, et les analyse en prenant en compte divers paramètres comme la poussière et les produits chimiques. Le réseau fait partie du Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution de l’air (RNSPA), un programme fédéral de surveillance de la qualité de l’air pour l’ensemble du pays.

Les données en temps réel de ces quatre stations sont disponibles sur le site Web du programme de surveillance de la qualité de l’air. Le site Web propose aussi des renseignements sur le réseau de surveillance, comprenant les données actuelles et historiques de surveillance de la qualité de l’air ainsi que des renseignements connexes supplémentaires.

  • Cliquez ici pour consulter les données.

Pour en savoir plus sur la surveillance de la qualité de l’air dans le cadre du Projet d’assainissement de la mine Giant, veuillez consulter la page Web du Programme de surveillance de la qualité de l’air à la mine Giant.

Réseau de surveillance de l’air et des précipitations

Le GTNO collabore avec le Réseau canadien d’échantillonnage des précipitations et de l’air (RCEPA) d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada pour exploiter deux stations du réseau à Snare Rapids et au parc national Wood Buffalo. Les données recueillies à ces stations permettent d’étudier les comportements et les tendances des polluants atmosphériques dans l’air et dans les précipitations à l’échelle régionale.

Cote air santé

Des niveaux élevés de poussière et d’autres polluants dans l’air peuvent causer des difficultés respiratoires, des maux de tête et une irritation des yeux, du nez ou de la gorge.

La Cote air santé est un outil de communication des risques pour la santé qui prévoit, sur une échelle de 1 à 10, les risques pour la santé liés à la qualité de l’air, et fournit des informations sur la manière dont les Ténois peuvent se protéger lorsque la qualité de l’air est mauvaise, par exemple lors de la saison des feux de forêt.

La CAS est actuellement disponible à Yellowknife, Fort Smith et Inuvik et sera bientôt disponible à Norman Wells.

Ressources

Fiche de renseignements

Lignes directrices

Rapport annuels

Le GTNO publie les rapports annuels sur la qualité de l’air aux TNO. Ces rapports résument les renseignements sur la qualité de l’air recueillis pour l’année en question. Chaque rapport renferme aussi des renseignements sur l’exploitation de réseaux de surveillance de la qualité de l’air, sur les polluants surveillés, sur les normes de qualité de l’air utilisées pour évaluer les résultats de surveillance et sur les analyses des tendances observées relativement à la qualité de l’air aux TNO. Les rapports annuels sont en anglais seulement.