Last Updated: 
June 1, 2015

The NWT State of the Environment Report - online version 2009 is updated regularly and prepared by a team with members from each Division of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (ENR), Government of the Northwest Territories.

Team members were:

Policy and Strategic Planning: Cathy Lewis (Chair)

Wildlife: Dr. Suzanne Carriere (Co-Chair, Secretary), Alicia Kelly, Lynda Yonge (editor)

Environmental Protection: Andrew Applejohn, Brian Sieben, Jim Sparling

Forest Management: Tom Lakusta, Lisa Smith

Directorate - Communications: Judy McLinton

NWT Protected Areas Secretariat: Claudia Haas

The ENR Team would like to acknowledge the help of many reviewers and experts who provided substantial information, data and analysis for some indicators. Many agencies and knowledgeable people from the NWT and elsewhere contributed information, reviews, analysis and insights.

Contributing agencies include:

Government of the Northwest Territories

 - NWT Bureau of Statistics

 - Department of Finance

 - Industry, Tourism and Investment

- Lands

 - NWT Centre for Geomatics

Agriculture Canada Birdlife International, Canada Centre for Remote Sensing, Gwich'in Land Use Planning Board, Gwich'in Renewable Resources Board, Wek'eezhii Renewable Resources Board, Sahtu Renewable Resources Board, Northern Canada Traffic Regulation System (NORDREG), Government of Canada: Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Parks Canada, Environment Canada, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Sahtu Land Use Planning Board, Statistics Canada, Timerline Natural Resource Group, and University of Regina.