Cumulative Impact Monitoring Program (CIMP)

Governance / Steering Committee

How the program works

NWT CIMP Governance Model
NWT CIMP governance model

The Northwest Territories Cumulative Impact Monitoring Program (NWT CIMP) is both a coordinator and conductor of monitoring activities. Cumulative impact monitoring questions and priorities are identified by key land and water use decision makers. The NWT CIMP Steering Committee provides guidance to ensure that the program continues to address the needs of Indigenous, territorial and federal governments.

NWT CIMP conducts its own monitoring for key cumulative impact initiatives. The program also provides partners with funding and coordination for monitoring initiatives that collect, analyze and report on cumulative impacts and environmental trends. This information is communicated to decision-makers directly, or through monitoring partners, and the NWT Discovery Portal.

NWT CIMP Steering Committee

Meaningful involvement of Indigenous governments in the design and function of NWT CIMP is a requirement of the Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act. Indigenous governments are involved in all aspects of the program through the guidance of the NWT CIMP Steering Committee. The Steering Committee provides high-level oversight for NWT CIMP and ensures that the program continues to meet the needs of Indigenous governments. Aboriginal Steering Committee members are asked to consult with their region on key decisions, and to bring back monitoring results and information to their regions

The Steering Committee comprises First Nations, Inuvialuit, Métis, federal and territorial government representatives including the Government of Canada (represented by Parks Canada), the Government of the Northwest Territories (represented by Environment and Natural Resources), Gwich’in Tribal Council, Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated, Tłı̨chǫ Government, Inuvialuit Game Council, NWT Métis Nation, and the North Slave Métis Alliance.

At this time, active observers include the Dehcho First Nations, Akaitcho Territory Government, Environment and Climate Change Canada, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board, Mackenzie Valley Environmental Impact Review Board, and the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers.

Contact information for individual Steering Committee representatives is updated annually and provided below.


Gwich’in Tribal Council 
Phone: (867) 777-7914

Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated
Phone: (867) 589-4719, ext. 23

Tlicho Government
Phone: (867) 392-6381, ext. 1351

Inuvialuit Game Council
Phone: (867) 777-2828

North Slave Métis Alliance
Phone: (867) 873-6762 ext. 24

Northwest Territory Métis Nation
Phone: (867) 872-2770, ext. 32

Government of the Northwest Territories
Environment and Natural Resources
Phone: (867) 767-9233 ext. 53080

Parks Canada (representing Government of Canada)


Regional Indigenous organizations listed as Observers have a standing offer to become a member at any time and receive all materials and correspondence.

Akaitcho Territory Government 
Phone: (867) 370-3217

Dehcho First Nations
Phone: (867) 695-2355

Department of Fisheries and Oceans
Phone: (867) 777-7503

Environment and Climate Change Canada

Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board
Phone: 867) 766-7463

Mackenzie Valley Environmental Impact Review Board
Phone: (867) 766-7056

Aurora Research Institute
Phone: (867) 777-3298 x232

Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
Phone: (403) 267-1188