Regional offices

The Department of Environment and Natural Resources (ENR) has five regional offices. These offices are located in Inuvik, Norman Wells, Fort Simpson, Fort Smith and Yellowknife. Local ENR offices are located in some Northwest Territories (NWT) communities.

The North Slave regional office is open to the public. All other ENR offices are currently closed to the public as a precaution against COVID-19. If you need a licence, permit or other ENR services in the Beaufort-Delta, Dehcho, Sahtu or South Slave region, please call ahead to book an appointment. Contact information for each office is listed on the left of this page.

ENR recommends all residents wear a non-medical face mask when visiting their local or regional ENR office. The North Slave regional office has also put in place additional measures to ensure its staff and the public are protected from potential exposure to COVID-19. A maximum of five visitors will be allowed in the office at one time and the public must follow all instructions and signage posted throughout the office.